side-area-logo
MIlford House Collection

“Mass kidnappings, inventions which revolutionized the worlds of business and sport, letters to and from Stalin. If there is a building in Ireland with a more fascinating history than Milford House, just outside Armagh, I’d be surprised” BBC NEWSLINE

Discover the extraordinary story of Milford House.  From the first house in Ireland to be lit with hydroelectricity, to its role as a private girls’ school and the work of the Trust today to save the house. Milford House is former seat of the McCrum family.  Today it is one of the top ten listed buildings in Northern Ireland considered to be at most serious risk.

The collections of Milford House are located in 3 Victoria Street, a beautiful townhouse where William Mc Crum spent his last days after losing his family fortune in the Wall Street Crash.

 

Milford House was the creation of Robert Garmany Mc Crum, self-made industrialist, benefactor and inventor who revolutionized the linen industry. His father, William McCrum (Senior), known locally as ‘The Old farmer’, was the first man in Ulster to spin flax by the dry process. In 1850 Robert took over one of his father’s flax mills and turned it into Robert Mc Crum and Co. a spinning Mill. This later became Mc Crum, Watson and Mercer which was one of the largest linen firms in Ireland. He was a man born before his time. His interest in science and technology never wavered and he built Milford House which was packed with his inventions and gadgets. He was the first in Ireland to adopt and install electricity in his private residence and in Milford factory.

Robert Garmany Mc Crum

His son, William Mc Crum, took little interest in his father’s business. His passion was sport and he is famous as the inventor of the penalty kick rule in football.

William Mc Crum

Harriette was the only daughter of Robert Garmany Mc Crum and was a founding member of the women’s suffragette movement in Ireland. By 1889 Milford House had six bathrooms, each with a jacuzzi and Turkish bath and a waterfall in the dining room.

Harriette Mc Crum

The collections of Milford House incorporate important works of art including paintings by Frederick Goodall and Daniel Sherrin. The wedding dress of Harriette Mc Crum and the first telephone system in County Armagh are also on display.

3 Victoria Street was the last home of William Mc Crum inventor of the penalty kick.  Guides will be dressed in genuine costumes and you can discover the fascinating story of Milford House, of mass kidnappings, inventions which revolutionized the world of business and sport and letters to Stalin!

Opening Hours: April – September weekends and public holidays: 2pm – 6pm (last tour 5pm). Open any other time by prior arrangement.

Admission: Please visit www.milfordhouse.org.uk for opening times and admission prices as they can vary seasonally.

Directions:

School visits

Milford House Collection, at 3 Victoria Street Armagh, is a perfect example of the extraordinary innovative achievements in the Victorian period of the Mc Crum family, one of Ireland’s premier linen manufacturing dynasties within Northern Ireland. Educational programmes for primary schools include:

Year 1 – Homes from the past

Primary led tours can be delivered by costumed actors playing the role of members of the Mc Crum family, their servants or people from Milford village.  Facilities for packed lunches are available in the house. There is a village playpark nearby which children might also like to visit. Pupils can discover exactly how their homes differ from those of previous times and what such differences meant for everyday living. Particular focus is given to the functions of different rooms and the lives of children.

Years 2 – 5 – The Victorians & Education from the past

If you are beginning to look at the Victorian period with your class, Milford House Museum can put your teaching in context. Costumed tours bring to life the Victorian period, inventions of the Mc Crum family and detail how education was different in the mid twentieth century at the Manor House School.

For more detail on educational visits telephone + 44 [0] 2837525467

or email  milfordhouse57@gmail.com

Step back in time in style and enjoy Victorian Afternoon Tea in style in the Dining Room. Visitors can book afternoon tea and relish using silver and china from a bygone age while the Mc Crum family portraits look down on them. Delicious sandwiches cut in strips (no crusts!), smoked salmon, scones with fresh cream and jam, cakes and buns can all be enjoyed. Visitors will be served by staff wearing genuine nineteenth century clothing who will instruct in the art of etiquette of Victorian Afternoon Tea. This is followed by a complimentary guided tour. Visitors can also book a living history tour set in the year 1899.

One recent visitor said they enjoyed our Afternoon Tea even more than being at The Merchant Hotel!

Available throughout the Year but booking is essential.

Price: £15.00 per person including complimentary tour

Milford House Collection

Milford Buildings

Preservation Trust

3 Victoria Street Armagh BT61 3DS

Telephone: 02837525467

Mobile: 07854784256

Email: milfordhouse57@gmail.com

www.milfordhouse.org.uk