Charity Registration No NIC 106019

Minutes of Annual General Meeting the Friends of the F.E. McWilliam Gallery On Wednesday 18th April 2018 at 7.00 pm At the F EMcWilliam Gallery

1 Fionnuala Cook, Chairwoman, welcomed everyone to the meeting and asked for apologies

2 Apologies

Millie Moore; Brigitte Boland; Allison & Isabel Moorehead, Terance Dixon.

Millie Moore and Brigitte Boland, although unable to be at the meeting, have indicated their willingness to continue to serve on the Committee

3 Minutes of the last Meeting

The Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 4th May 2016, had been circulated. They were agreed and adopted on a proposal from David Cook, seconded by Dr Cecelia Ward. Fionnuala told the meeting that she is stepping down as Chairwoman and Fiona as Secretary, each having served seven years.

4 Chairwoman's Report

The report for the year 2017-2018 had also been circulated and the chairwoman went through the details of the past year's events. She highlighted the events the Friends had arranged to encourage people to visit the Gallery. Buses were paid for to help primary school children come to the Gallery, a Kids own week took place in the summer holidays. The highlight was the Flax Flower Field where diverse groups attended two workshops to make ceramic flax flowers under the supervision of ceramicist Trevor. These flowers are now planted in the garden and will remain there until the end of October. Each of these projects were helped by funding from Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council for which the Friends are extremely grateful.

The report was adopted on the proposal of Hilary Good seconded by Riann Coulter.

She also mentioned the bursary in memory of Dr Maurna Crozier, a great friend of the Gallery and the arts world. Last year two artists benefited from a week at Annamaghkerrig each to work on a project.

The programme for 2018-2019 is now out and the Chairwoman went over the coming events in brief.

She then thanked Fiona for her work over the years and praised Deirdre Quail who, sadly, is leaving us. She is another founder member and has been responsible for many of the projects besides working tirelessly to promote the Friends.

The report was accepted on the proposal of Hilary Good, seconded by Lynda McFadden.

5 Financial Report

Hilary Good, the Honorary Treasurer presented the accounts.

A copy of the accounts had been circulated. Hilary went through them, pointing out our income and how we use the money we receive. We currently have over a hundred members. More than half of these pay their subscription by Standing Order and she would encourage others to do so.

The accounts were adopted on the proposal of Fiona Hyslop, seconded by David Cook

6 Election of Officers

Fionnuala vacated the chair for the Election of Officers, and Riann took over. She read out the names of the current Committee Members, all of whom except for Deirdre Quail had indicated their willingness to be re-elected.

Millie Moore had indicated that she is willing to serve as chairwoman for two years. Proposed by Dr Robert Logan, seconded by David Cook.

Lynda McFadden was elected as Honorary Secretary on the proposal of Marian Fairnbairn, seconded by Patricia McAteer.

Hilary Good was re-elected as Honorary Treasurer for a further year, proposed by Jane Hudson, seconded by James Hudson

The remaining Committee members are Fionnuala Cook, Fiona Hyslop, Jane Hudson, Della McKinstry, Christine Wright and ex-officio members Riann Coulter and Brigitte Boland. Ann Davidson has agreed to become a committee member and is a most welcome addition. All were elected on the proposal of David Cook, seconded by James Hudson.

This concluded the business of the AGM.

Before the meeting closed Hilary Good presented Fionnuala, Fiona and Deirdre each with a beautiful bouquet of flowers on behalf of the Committee.

9. Any Other Business

There	being no	other b	usiness,	Fionnual	a closed	the mee	eting at 7	7.30.	She then	introduce	d our
speak	er, the ar	tist Mar	k Shields	whose e	xhibition	is curre	ntly on a	at the	Gallery.		

Chairwoman	Honorary Secretary