T: 028 3752 3142
T: 028 3752 3142
Closed until further notice
Armagh Robinson Library, formerly Armagh Public Library, is the oldest library in Northern Ireland, founded in 1771 by Archbishop Richard Robinson as part of his plans to establish a university. Carved in stone above the Library’s public entrance is the original Greek inscription meaning “the healing place of the soul”, a message that still resonates today.
The nucleus of the collection is Archbishop Robinson’s own library, containing 17th and 18th century books on many subjects. There are many rare and valuable books such as incunabula, first editions and illuminated manuscripts. A registered museum, the Library holds ancient Irish artefacts such as stone axes, flint arrowheads and bronze implements. The library also holds resources to aid family history research.
The book collection is kept alive with current acquisitions on the following subjects: Armagh City and County local history, church history, St Patrick and Johnathan Swift.
A guided tour of the Library will encourage and show visitors how to locate and handle old manuscripts, books and maps with care. There will be the opportunity to view the 1835 Ordnance Survey Maps to discover how townlands, villages or towns looked all those years ago.
Opening Hours: Mon-Fri: 10am – 1pm & 2pm – 4pm. Other opening times are available on request.
Admission: Free | Donations Welcome
Guided Tours: 1-24 People £2.00 per person | Groups Of 25+ £50 per group | Pre-booking essential for groups
Armagh Robinson Library is a unique venue which can be hired for meetings, conferences, launches, talks and intimate concerts. The atmosphere of this wonderful Georgian library makes a special occasion of any event.