The unique character of the Museum’s architecture makes it one of the most distinctive buildings in the city. Opened in 1937 as Ireland’s first County Museum, its collections capture centuries of stories relating to the people who lived, worked and had connections with this famous city and historic county.
On display are military uniforms, wedding dresses, ceramics, natural history specimens and railway memorabilia. An impressive art collection includes works by many well-known Irish artists such as AE Russell, John Luke and JB Vallely.
The Museum staff aim to ensure that all visitors feel welcome and are keen to help with enquiries. There is an extensive reference library, rich in local archive material, along with photographic and map collections. With a range of changing exhibitions throughout the year, the Museum is an ideal place to begin and explore the fair county of Armagh.
Visitor information is also available at the museum.